The College of Family Physicians of Canada is pleased to announce its 2011‐2012 Executive Committee

Dr. Sandy Buchman received his medical degree from McMaster University and completed his Family Medicine Residency training at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Buchman has practiced comprehensive family medicine in Mississauga, Ontario for 22 years.  He is currently Education Lead and a Family Physician Practicing in Palliative Care at the Temmy Latner Centre for Palliative Care in Toronto and also serves as the Primary Care Lead for the Toronto Regional Cancer Program at Cancer Care Ontario.  Dr. Buchman teaches family medicine at the University of Toronto and McMaster University, and supervises residents at the Mount Sinai Hospital Academic Family Health Team.

Dr. Buchman joined the CFPC’s National Executive Committee in 2010 and served as Secretary- Treasurer, and then Chair of the Board. Currently, he is Chair of the Task Force on the CFPC's Relationship with the Pharmaceutical/Healthcare Industry; a member of the CFPC’s Governance Advisory Committee; Co-chair of the Transitions in Care Steering Committee with the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer; and a member of the CFPC’s Section of Communities of Practice in Family Medicine (formerly the Section of Family Physicians with Special Interests or Focused Practices Council).

Dr. Buchman served as President of the Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP) in 2006-2007 and will receive the OCFP’s 2011 Award of Excellence for his leadership in primary care for the Toronto Regional Cancer Program of Cancer Care Ontario. Dr. Buchman was also awarded Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year for the Southern Region in Ontario by the OCFP in 2004.

New CFPC President, Dr. Sandy Buchman, talks about his goals for his 2011-2012 term of office.
View video

2011‐2012 Executive Committee Members:  

President  Dr. Sandy Buchman, Toronto, ON
Past President   Dr. Rob Boulay, Miramichi, NB
President‐Elect/Chair of the Board   Dr. Marie-Dominique Beaulieu, Montreal, QC
Honorary Secretary‐Treasurer Dr. Kathy Lawrence, Regina, SK
Member‐at‐Large (1-year term)   Dr. Garey Mazowita, Vancouver, BC
Member‐at‐Large (3-year term)   Dr. Nirvair Levitt, Vancouver, BC
Executive Director & CEO Dr. Calvin Gutkin, Mississauga, ON


For further information contact:

Jayne Johnston
Communications Manager
(905) 629-0900 ext. 303 

Copyright © 1996-2019 The College of Family Physicians of Canada