The CFPC Announces the 2017 Family Physicians of the Year

November 01, 2017

Family medicine leaders committed to supporting high-quality care

(Mississauga, ON, November 1, 2017) - The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is proud to announce the 2017 Family Physicians of the Year—10 dedicated family doctors who provide exceptional care to their patients, contribute to the well-being of their communities, and demonstrate leadership in family medicine education and research. These individuals will be honoured with the Reg. L Perkin award on Friday, November 10th, at the CFPC’s annual Awards Gala in Montreal, Quebec. The event takes place at Family Medicine Forum, which runs from November 8th to 11th in conjunction with Family Doctor Week in Canada celebrations taking place November 6th to 11th.

“We commend this year’s award recipients for their enduring efforts to promote high-quality patient care, provide leadership in their home communities, and support the future of family medicine through education and mentorship,” says CFPC President David White, MD, CCFP, FCFP. “The passion and commitment they bring to the profession of family medicine are an inspiration to their peers and to the next generation of family doctors.”

Canada’s 2017 Family Physicians of the Year are:

  • Joy Russell, MD, CCFP, FCFP – Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Donald Chan, MD, CCFP, FCFP – Edmonton, Alberta
  • Jennifer Kuzmicz, MD, CCFP, FCFP – Regina, Saskatchewan
  • Bruce Martin, MD, CCFP, FCFP, MSc – Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Michael Lee-Poy, MD, CCFP, MClSc – Kitchener, Ontario
  • Johanne Théorêt, MD, CCFP, FCFP – Québec, Quebec
  • Karlyne Dufour MD, CCFP, FCFP – Riverview, New Brunswick
  • Mary Frances Moriarty, MD, CCFP, FCFP – Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
  • Ken Coady, MD, CCFP – Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
  • Lynette Powell, MD, CCFP – Grand Falls-Windsor, Newfoundland and Labrador

“We are proud to recognize the many accomplishments of the 2017 Family Physicians of the Year. In addition to the excellent patient care they provide, they each make unique and valued contributions to their communities,” says CFPC Executive Director and CEO Francine Lemire, MD CM, CCFP, FCFP, CAE. “Their professional accomplishments include providing palliative care, adopting the Patient’s Medical Home and team-based practice models, mentoring medical students, advocating for improved mental health supports, and serving rural and Indigenous communities.”

The Family Physician of the Year awards are named in honour of Dr. Reg L. Perkin, who served as the CFPC’s Executive Director from 1985 to 1996. The CFPC has recognized the work of outstanding family physicians with the Reg L. Perkin award since 1972—45 years.

Award recipients are nominated by their peers and their respective provincial Chapters of the CFPC for exemplifying the four principles of family medicine: They are skilled clinicians, they are community-based, they serve as resources for their communities, and they value the patient-doctor relationship.

This award is sponsored by the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine and Scotiabank. 

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) represents more than 36,000 members across the country. It is the professional organization responsible for establishing standards for the training and certification of family physicians. The CFPC reviews and accredits continuing professional development programs and materials that enable family physicians to meet certification and licensing requirements and lifelong learning interests. It also accredits postgraduate family medicine training in Canada’s 17 medical schools. The College provides quality services, supports family medicine teaching and research, and advocates on behalf of family physicians and the specialty of family medicine.

Follow the Family Physicians of the Year hashtag #TopDocsCanada.

More information about the 2017 Family Physicians of the Year is available at:

Susan Monic
Manager, Communication Services
The College of Family Physicians of Canada
905-629-0900 ext. 432
[email protected]

Copyright © 1996-2019 The College of Family Physicians of Canada